Fish Soup in Half an Hour

Today at 11:30 am Little Missy declared that she was hungry and wanted “soup soup with goldfish.”  As a result of her recent ear infection related outright refusal to eat anything I have offered her, I figured I’d better get her what she wanted to avoid another food fight and get some food into her tummy.  Besides, I do like making soup for her because it’s an effective way to get her to eat veggies.  I dashed to the basement to see if I still had any of Jessica Seinfeld’s chicken soup in the freezer from the last batch I made. Nope. Crap! I did spy one lonesome frozen filet of cod so I figured I’d improvise and make fish soup. I figured if Rachael Ray can make soup in half an hour, so can I dammit!  Sometimes I feel a little like Curious George in the kitchen, throwing in a little bit of this and a little bit of that and hoping to heck it comes out edible.  Today was definitely a Curious George kind of day.  I took a quick survey of my pantry and freezer and figured I had enough materials to throw together a fish soup. I tossed the vacuum wrapped fish filet in some water to start thawing it while I put some water on the boil and grabbed a few other things.  Here’s what I came up with using just ingredients in my freezer, fridge and pantry:

Fish Soup (makes 4 servings)

4 cups low sodium broth (fish, chicken, vegetable are all fine. I used no salt chicken bouillon)

1 medium potato, peeled and diced fine (for fast cooking)

2 cups frozen mixed vegetables

2 tbs salsa (this adds a bit of kick and depth to the soup)

1 tsp dried parsley

I tsp granulated onion

1 filet of frozen cod, cubed (of course you can use fresh too!)

1 cup frozen cooked salad shrimp (these are the little ones and work well in a soup because they don’t overwhelm the spoon)

Salt & pepper to taste

Garnish: Gold fish crackers (or oyster crackers for the more mature set).

Bring the broth to a boil in a medium saucepan.

Meanwhile wash, peel and finely dice up the potato (about ¼” pieces). Put the diced potatoes into the broth.

Microwave the frozen mixed veggies 1-2 minutes to thaw them out and add to the broth.

Add salsa, parsley, and granulated onion to the broth and cook until potatoes are cooked. Approximately 10 minutes, depending on the size of the potatoes.

Meanwhile remove the fish from the vacuum wrapper and add any liquid from the thawed fish into the broth for extra flavor. Cube the fish into approximately ½” pieces and add to broth.

Thaw the shrimp in the microwave for 1-2 minutes. Add the shrimp to the soup once the fish is cooked and allow to heat through, being careful not to overcook. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with goldfish or oyster crackers.

Missy and I had ourselves a very nice lunch and she even asked for seconds.  She did initially have some issues with the corn and peas, but ultimately ate them too, especially when there was a goldfish cracker on the spoon.  However when her first bowl of soup was finished and I asked is she’d had enough, she looked at me and said, “Enough peas.” Priceless!

This entry was posted in Fish, Gold Fish Crackers, Jessica Seinfeld, pantry meal, picky eaters, potatoes, quick, recipe, Seafood, soup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

