Apple Pie Therapy

After being home for the Christmas holidays for 2 weeks, I am nervous about returning to work. Not so much the going to work bit, but the getting the kids out of bed and carted off to daycare bit. I am also nervous because I am planning to change my hours and work longer days. As a way of easing back into the working world after a 3.5 year break to be home with the kids, I had decided to split my part time work hours into three short days in the office and a handful of hours at home. I was lucky to be returning to an old employer who was willing to be flexible with my hours. But knowing that eventually I’ll have to up my hours to full time, I have decided to eliminate my hours worked at home and work three full days in the office. Along with my 45 minute commute each way this would make for one heck of a long day, and this would mean I would miss dinner with the kids. obviously it would also mean I would miss making dinner.  Some serious meal planning would be in order for this plan to work. The hubs says he can cook, but I don’t think he could handle screaming kids ready to murder each other while he nuked chicken nuggets cooked.  For this to work I will need to make a bunch of food ahead of time that he can reheat.

So on my last day of vacation before embarking on this ambitious plan, you would think I would be furiously planning meals of the cook once eat twice kind, shopping, and cooking.  But no. What did I do instead? Bake. If you can call it that. An oven was involved, but so was a tube of Pillsbury crescent rolls. The cutting butter into flour crowd would not approve of me calling this baking, but I was more interested in the end result than the process.  But maybe this is what my brain needed. Instead of freaking out about and over planning for a pending change in my family’s lives, my brain needed to zone out and I guess my body needed some sweet pastries, some comfort food.

So what did I make with the tube of crescent roll dough, you ask? I made individual apple pies. And even though they did not turn out all that pretty, they sure were delicious. And the best part was it took about half an hour.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 tube Pillsbury Crescent Roll Dough
  • 2 medium apples (I used Fuji) diced small
  • 1 tbs corn starch
  • 3 tbs brown sugar
  • 1 shake of cinnamon
  • small pinch of salt

Procedure:

  • Preheat oven to 375F.
  • Dice the apples into small pieces and put in a bowl.
  • Add the corm starch and mix to cover each piece.
  • Mix in the sugar, cinnamon, and salt.

    Apple mixture ready for the dough.

    Apple mixture ready for the dough.

  • Unroll the crescent roll dough and separate into individual triangular pieces on a baking sheet.
  • Place about 1 tbs of the apple mixture into each triangle of dough.  You may have some left over filling.

    Filled triangles

    Filled triangles

  • Fold the dough into little packets. You can stretch the dough and play with it a little to make the sides meet. I started by making the corners at either end of the longest side meet and pinching together the edge. Then I pulled together the remaining edges. It’s OK to leave some gaps along the top edge, but try to make sure none of the juice drips out of the sides especially as the dough won’t stick to itself then.

    Long edge is pinched together

    Long edge is pinched together

Ready for the oven. Not that pretty but sure to be good!

Ready for the oven. Not that pretty but sure to be good!

  • Bake for about 15 minutes (following the directions on the package of dough) until golden brown.
Waiting...

Waiting…

Enjoy!

Golden and yummy

Golden and yummy

Sweet and  gooey

Sweet and gooey

 

This entry was posted in baking, comfort food, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apple Pie Therapy

  1. Mick T. says:

    Those look yummy! :)

Leave a Reply

